Spring Rolls with Thai-Almond Butter Sauce

I think I may become addicted to this sauce, you guys. Seriously. It’s the most incredible sauce I have ever made had. I got the inspiration from Oh She Glows. My husband volunteered to make it, so you know it’s super easy to make 😉

All you need is:  1 cup of almond butter (we chose to make our own with 1.5 cups of almonds), 2 cloves of garlic, 1 tsp. of red Thai curry paste (we used the Thai Kitchen brand), 2 tbsp. of maple syrup, and some water.

If you are making your own almond butter, toss those almonds in a food processor (I find it works better than my blender) and let it go until it turns into almond butter! It’s that easy! (You will have to scrape the sides on occasion) After you have the almond butter, toss in the rest of the ingredients and pulse until everything is combined. Feel free to add extra curry paste, extra garlic, and even some more ginger! (Our curry paste has ginger added)

If you are using store bought almond butter, you can still use the food processor to make sure the garlic is completely mixed it. But, you can also just mince the garlic and mix everything in a bowl.

Now for the spring rolls…I decided to use carrots, green onion, cucumber, lettuce, tofu, and avocado. I sliced everything as thinly as possible.

20170606_165508

To assemble the spring rolls, you need a shallow dish to allow the spring roll wrapper to soak in water (one by one) and a clean, flat surface to roll them up. Soak them for about 30 seconds. You’ll know its ready when it loses it’s stiffness and becomes clear when you lift it out of the water. Put it on your work surface and add whatever fillings you have chosen. Be careful not to overfill it-they rip pretty easily!

20170607_120228

After that, wrap it up like a burrito and get ready to make another! It can be a little tricky at first because the wrapper is so thin, but you’ll get the hang of it.

20170607_120840

Don’t be ashamed if you start eating the sauce with a spoon, I definitely did 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Spring Rolls with Thai-Almond Butter Sauce

  1. These sound so good! I made my very first spring rolls recently and they’re so difficult to roll ha! My first one looked like a bloody dumpling but I soon got the hang of it. Thai nut sauce is the ultimate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

