Grilled Veggie Salad and Tempeh

Nothing better than springtime weather! This weekend we finally had decent weather–no rain and lots of sunshine! We set up the grills (I have my own vegan-food-only-grill) and patio furniture…..Ok so maybe my husband did all the work while I sat back and watched. My surgeon said to take it easy for another week or so…yep that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it 😉

I decided to make one of my favorite grilled veggie salads and marinated tempeh. Just look at all the delicious veggies we got…sweet corn, zucchini, and bell peppers. Not sure about you guys, but growing up in Illinois, there was nothing better than fresh sweet corn in the summers. I could seriously eat fresh corn on the cob every single day of the summer…hmm…I feel a cooking challenge coming on.

20170528_145305

To start, I marinated the tempeh-it needs to marinate in the fridge for at least one hour-overnight is best, but, uh, I forgot. For the marinade I just threw the tempeh into a Ziploc with some red wine vinegar, water, and fresh parsley (yay, herb gardens!) After about two hours.

While the tempeh was marinating I grilled the veggies. I like having the salad cold so I typically get the veggies cooked a while before everything else so they have a chance to cool completely. But, you can definitely have the salad warm. I cut the zucchini and peppers into large strips so I could cook them directly on the grill and easily flip them over. I coated the grill plates with a little oil to prevent sticking and sprinkled some salt over them while cooking. They were on medium heat for about 20 minutes. They had a great char on both sides. My apologies for no photos on the grill….the camera lens had a constant fog from all the heat!

To cook the corn, I leave the husks on and put them on the upper rack of the grill (it’s propane) This allows the corn to steam cook. It takes about 30 minutes on medium heat, flipping about halfway through. You can also de-husk the corn to cook, this will give it more char. But I’ve always found I like the taste better when I leave the husk on.

After the veggies were cooled, I cut them into smaller, bite-size pieces. I squeezed some fresh lime juice on top with a bit of olive oil, salt, and black pepper.

To cook the tempeh I used a cast-iron skillet directly on the grill. This was my first time grilling tempeh and I was a bit nervous it would fall between the grill plates. I cooked them on medium heat for about five minutes on both sides. To top it off, I blended a bit of fresh lime juice with some parsley and olive oil.

20170528_183521

 

While we are enjoying the warm weather, our pup is hating it. Instead, she naps inside under a fan like this….

20170530_065708

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Grilled Veggie Salad and Tempeh

Leave a Reply

