Sugar-free Berry Jam

When I found out I had to cut sugar from my diet because of tongue cancer, many foods were suddenly off limits. To distract myself from the stress and anxiety I experienced during treatment, I researched sugar free alternatives for my long list of foods I could no longer eat. 

I never really ate or bought jam. But what if I wanted some? What if I suddenly had a recipe that called for jam or wanted a pb&j? I was really fixated on finding a sugar free jam. (Cancer does weird things to a person) All jam I’ve seen (homemade and store bought) has sugar or artificial sweeteners. Neither would work for me. 

In came the wonders of the internet and chia seed jams. I looked over dozens of recipes and they all required some kind of sweetener-sugar, maple syrup, agave, or stevia, etc. Of course stevia is sugar free, but it leaves me with an awful after taste. 

I decided to make up my own just using fruit and chia seeds-what was the worst that could happen? (Nothing, nothing happened except delicious jam 😀)

To make this you need any kind of fruit (maybe not banana)-frozen, fresh, mixed, you get the idea. Today I made one of my favorites, mixed berry using frozen raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries. I used a 12 oz bag but feel free to make more or less. 

I put the berries in a small sauce pan on medium heat and stir (about 5-7 minutes) until they look like this:

Now you can turn off the heat. This part is totally optional: I put the berries in a blender so the jam isn’t too seedy. If you have an immersion blender that would work even better. But I’ve also skipped this part depending in the fruit.

After blending, put the berries back in the saucepan. Now just mix in the chia seeds. For 12 oz of berries I used about 2 tbsp of chia seeds. It should look something like this:

Pour the jam back in the pan and cover with a lid. Let the jam sit for about 1 hour. After the hour passes the jam should be thick and goopy. If you want it thicker, add a tbsp more of chia seeds, mix, and wait 10 more minutes to thicken.  It will look like this:


This will keep in the fridge for a week or so. I plan on using this to stir in my breakfast porridge this week. It’s also great on toast and in a pb&j. 
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

