Breakfast 4/18

It finally happened-after eating my quinoa-oatmeal porridge for a month straight (even weekends) I got sick of it. I started craving something savory for breakfast instead. On weekends if I’m craving savory, I’ll make some kind of tofu scramble with veggies and sometimes beans. But on work mornings I have neither the time or energy to make a scramble. In comes the breakfast sandwich. 

I used a marinaded tempeh recipe from Oh She Glows.  It included balsamic vinegar, soy sauce, fresh minced garlic, maple syrup (I had to skip) and a bit of water. I sliced a block of tempeh in 6 pieces and marinaded them for a few hours on Sunday. Sunday evening I fried them with a little oil so they would only need to be reheated in the mornings.

In the morning, I tossed an Ezekiel English muffin (only ones I’ve found that are sugar free!) in the toaster oven while I reheated the tempeh in a pan along with a bit of spinach. I sliced a tomato and then put it all together. Had the avocados been ripe at the store I would have put a few slices on as well….maybe in a few days!

In addition to my breakfast sandwich I made a smoothie. I found a new mixture of frozen fruit in was excited to try-mangoes, blueberries, cherries, and currants. I also tossed in some kale, spinach, flax seeds, and water. Everything was really tasty! 

And of course there was coffee and a kitty 🙂 

Leave a Reply

