Broccoli-Peanut Stir Fry

Last week broccoli was super cheap at the grocery store. I couldn’t help myself and bought a ton…like 7 big heads of broccoli. Broccoli is my favorite vegetable so the fact that I had no actual plan to use it all meant nothing to me in the moment. Tonight I had a craving for broccoli and something peanuty. It was really easy and really yummy.

What to do

In a large frying pan saute 1 small onion and 2 garlic cloves. Add chopped broccoli. (I used about 8 cups) Fry the broccoli for about 5 minutes on medium heat. Stir in about 1/4 cup of water, cover, and turn the heat to medium low. Allow the broccoli to steam, stirring occasionally, and add more water if needed. 

While the broccoli is cooking you can cook some rice or noodles-I went with soba noodles today. If you choose brown rice, I’d recommend starting it before getting the broccoli going. I also steamed some strips of tempeh while the broccoli cooked. Tofu would also go really well with this dish. 

To make the sauce all you need is 2 tbsp. of soy sauce, (I used low sodium) 1/4 cup of natural peanut butter, 1/4 cup of warm water, and about a tsp of curry paste. (If I could have sugar I’d definitely add some maple syrup!) Just mix everything in a bowl or large measuring cup. Check the broccoli with a fork and when it is cooked to your liking-pour in the sauce and mix. 

Toss the noodles or rice in a bowl and add the broccoli and lots of the sauce. Top it off with fried tofu or steamed tempeh. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

