Chickpea Nuggets

The other day I made a ton of chickpeas. Now comes the part when I need to figure out what to do with all of them. This recipe for vegan nuggets from Connoisseurus Veg has been sitting in one of my Pinterest boards for a long time; laziness kept me from making them. The recipe is fairly simple but it does take some time. I made them by myself but I think it would have gone much faster to have a second set of hands.

The original recipe calls for liquid smoke, but apparently that has corn syrup (which I can’t have because of the cavity risk) so I just didn’t put it in. The recipe also calls for panko breadcrumbs, but apparently those have sugar mixed in too….arg! So, I opted for a mixture of homemade breadcrumbs and chickpea crumbs I found at the store. I would have used all homemade breadcrumbs but I was half a cup short.

Nugget Ingrewp-1489959396197.jpgdients:

 

  • 1-14 oz. can artichoke hearts, drained
  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 2 tsp. red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Batter Ingredients:wp-1489959441114.jpg

  • 1 cup unflavored cashew milk
  • 1/4 cup ground golden flaxseed (you can use any kind)
  • 2 tbsp. flour

 

 

 

 

Coating Ingredients:wp-1489959458746.jpg

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1 tsp. paprika

 

How I made them:

  • Put the artichokes in a food processor and pulse a few times.
  • Add the rest of the nugget ingredients in the food processor and process until finely chopped.
  • Put the mixture in the fridge while you make the batter and coating mixtures.
  • Shape the nuggets into small pieces.
  • Dip each nugget first in the batter then the breadcrumb coating. I made mine way too big the first time around. They turned out well but the smaller batch was a lot easier to cook.
  • Find your biggest skillet and pour oil so it is about 1/8 inch deep. I used vegetable oil.
  • Turn the skillet on medium heat.
  • Place nuggets into the skillet. Leave a little bit of room between each so you have room to flip them.
  • I cooked the larger nuggets about 5 minutes on each side and the smaller ones about 3 minutes on each side. I think I may have cooked the larger ones a bit too long so maybe 5 minutes on one side and 3 on the other would have been better.

 

I ended up with about 30 nuggets. They tasted fantastic. Next time I make these I will definitely make them all the smaller size…much easier to work with! I threw about half in the freezer for any lazy days in the near future.

Since every brand of ketchup and barbecue sauce has some type of sugar added in, I just used some marinara sauce. (Why no sugar?…Check out my page titled My Cancer Story-Does anyone have a sugar-free ketchup brand recommendation? I miss ketchup!) I also roasted up some Brussels sprouts as a side. wp-1489973508982.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Chickpea Nuggets

  1. I’m impressed. These look wonderful, and I have seen similar recipes, but have not been brave enough to try because it did look so time consuming! BTW … who would have thought liquid smoke had corn syrup? I checked my brand because I was sure you were wrong, and it does indeed have molasses!

    Like

Leave a Reply

