What I ate-3/13

I wasn’t very hungry for breakfast today, but skipping breakfast all together never works well for me. I always end up regretting it about 30 minutes after I leave the house.

I decided to make a smoothie. I had LOTS of cucumber I needed to use up (they were on sale for 3/$1-how could I pass it up?) I threw in about half a cucumber, about 1 cup of frozen fruit (mix of strawberry, mango, peach, and pineapple) and about 1 tbsp of hemp hearts. I usually use some type of milk with smoothies but I was out, instead I just used about 1\2 a cup of water.

If you haven’t used or heard of hemp hearts I highly recommend them. I’ve been seeing them at every grocery store lately-same aisle as flax and chia seeds. They are a great source of omega 3 and 6 fatty acids, loaded with minerals and vitamins, contain all essential amino acids, full of protein, and are high in fiber. They have a slightly nutty flavor-delicious in smoothies, sprinkled on oatmeal, salads, soups, you get the idea. 

On Sunday we went to my in-laws’ house to celebrate my husband’s birthday.  I am the only vegan in the family; everyone eats a typical American style diet. In the past month however, my mother-in-law, in an attempt for a healthier lifestyle, has been following a vegan diet. Of course, I have been giving her loads of recipes to try and also cooking food for her to sample. So far, she has enjoyed everything I’ve suggested and feels better overall. I had offered to bring some food over yesterday but she said she wanted to do it all. I failed to take pictures of the delicious food she prepared. She made: roasted cauliflower, buffalo cauliflower wings, a roasted beet, carrot, and apple dish, and a roasted sweet potato and black bean salad. I managed to snag some leftovers of the salad and had it for lunch today. It was fantastic and simple-roasted sweet potato (with a little salt and pepper), precooked black beans, toasted pumpkin seeds, a sprinkle of fresh lemon juice, and topped with a bit of fresh parsley. Yesterday I had it warm and today I had it cold. It was great both ways.

wp-1489422119927.jpg

 For dinner I made a “clean out the fridge” meal. I’m trying to avoid grocery shopping as often (saves a lot of money) and so I have been making up a lot more recipes based on what’s left in the fridge. (This is when having a well stocked pantry full of grains, beans, lentils, and seasoning comes in handy!)  In the fridge I had some cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, and kale. 

I started with cooking a mix of brown and green lentils in broth and some millet. Then I simply sauteed half a chopped red onion, 3 cloves of chopped garlic, and the chopped mushrooms (about 1.5 cups) for 10 minutes.(in a bit of olive oil) I added about 1 tsp of garlic salt and threw the tomatoes (about 2 cups) and a handful of chopped kale in for an extra 5 minutes.

 If you haven’t tried millet, please do. It’s full of protein and best part-it cooks in about 15 minutes. So while you’re busy chopping and cooking your veggies, the millet can be simmering in the background. Normally I cook millet in the same pot as my lentils-just add them about halfway through the lentil cooking time and add extra liquid. I guess I wanted extra dishes or something today because I cooked them separately. 

 
 And here’s this guy…I think he knew it was snowing out because he wanted extra cuddles to stay warm today. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

