What I Eat In A Day – Wednesday, March 8

Breakfast

I start every day with a cup of coffee. Nothing fancy, just whatever beans were on sale at the grocery store and I drink it black. I usually enjoy it with one of my cats sitting right next to me. For breakfast, I had a sliced banana and two muffins I made over the weekend, a lemon chia seed (left) and an apple banana (right). Here’s my lame attempt at food photography…

wp-1489074960231.jpg

Here’s the recipe I used for the apple banana muffins. It’s from the food blog Vegan Richa. The recipe is actually for bread loaf, but, my dog ate most of it before I even got to try it. So I made it again but since my loaf pan was covered in dog slobber, I went with muffins instead. They came out really well! The lemon chia seed muffins were also a recipe I found from Vegan Richa. They were delicious but for some reason the chia seeds never poofed like they were supposed to. It may be because I used erythritol instead of sugar (link to why no sugar). I’ll have to try it a little differently next time.

wp-1489075578172.jpg

… she looks so innocent, right?

Lunch

wp-1489075248778.jpg

I kept lunch really simple. Hummus, sliced cucumber, and cherry tomatoes. The hummus is homemade-I didn’t really follow a recipe. I had about 2 cups of chickpeas I had previously cooked, threw them in the food processor with a spoonful of tahini, a few drizzles of olive oil, some garlic powder, salt, and paprika. When the mixture was a little too thick I added a few spoonfuls of water to thin it out.

Snackwp-1489075210609.jpg

Typically I can’t get through the day without at least one snack. Sometimes my snack looks more like a meal. Today, I went for some medjool dates dipped in peanut butter. The peanut butter I almost always buy is Smucker’s Natural. It is made of only ground peanuts and a bit of salt. My favorite part is there is no added sugar-something I had a hard time finding after I needed to cut sugar out of my diet completely. Also, it’s usually only $5 for a big jar!

Dinner

wp-1489075558110.jpg

Dinner was also really simple. I already had roasted Brussels sprouts, broccoli, and cooked black beans in the fridge. I cooked some quinoa and roasted a sweet potato and half a red onion. (When I roast veggies I just add a little olive oil, a little salt, and roast at 400°F until they are crispy-usually 30-40 minutes) When the quinoa was cooked I added some garlic salt, stirred in the black beans, and some spinach. I mixed everything until the spinach was wilted. Once the sweet potato and red onion were done roasting I threw everything together in a bowl and called it dinner!

 

wp-1489076867331.jpg

 

And here is my other cat. Can’t leave him out!

Leave a Reply

